Education Department Confirms It Reduced PSLF Qualifying-Payment Counts for Some Borrowers, Citing Code Errors From May 2024
The department says it is correcting counter errors introduced under the Biden administration; borrower advocates say legitimately earned credit is being taken back, and the department has not said how many accounts changed.
A Number That Erases a Decade of Debt Just Moved, and No One Will Say How Far
For public servants chasing loan forgiveness, one number matters more than any other: the count of qualifying payments toward the 120 needed to wipe out a federal student loan. Hit 120 and the balance disappears. Sit at 119 and you still owe every dollar[5]. So when borrowers logged into StudentAid.gov in mid-August 2026 and watched that count fall, some by decades' worth of months, it did not read like a bookkeeping tweak. It read like debt being handed back.
On or about August 18, 2026, the U.S. Department of Education confirmed what borrowers were seeing was real. Spokesperson Ellen Keast said the agency had found "multiple PSLF counter code errors stemming from changes implemented in May 2024 under the Biden Administration" that "resulted in inaccurate payment counts for some borrowers"[1][5]. One borrower's tally reportedly dropped from near 120 down to 94[5] — the difference between finishing this year and waiting more than two more years.
What the department has not said, as of August 24, 2026, is how many borrowers this touched, or whether any credit removed by mistake will be put back[1][2]. That silence is doing a lot of work in this story.
How a Data-Entry Cleanup Turned Into a Debt Fight
Public Service Loan Forgiveness has existed since 2007: work ten years for government or a nonprofit, make 120 qualifying monthly payments, and the rest of the federal loan is canceled[5]. About 1.2 million people have had loans erased under it, for an average of nearly $75,000 each[5]. It is one of the largest quiet transfers in federal student aid.
But PSLF's payment count was a mess for years. Loan servicers routinely miscounted, and in April 2022 the department announced a one-time fix — the IDR account adjustment — that credited millions of borrowers for months that had not been properly tracked[7]. That fix, plus an earlier Limited PSLF Waiver, ran on code pushed out in May 2024, under the Biden administration[1][5][7].
That is the code the department now says had errors. Officials say the flawed rules handed out credit for months that should not have counted at all — mostly time spent in forbearance, when payments were paused, and stretches on repayment plans that never qualified for PSLF[8][5]. Under this reading, the counters now falling are not being cut. They are being corrected back to what the law allows.
Both Explanations Can Be True at Once, Which Is the Whole Problem
Here is the part that both sides of this fight actually agree on: a process that reset payment counts for millions of accounts, using automated code, was always going to make mistakes[7]. That is true no matter who wrote the code or which administration ran it. So the department's claim that some corrections are legitimate, and advocates' claim that some legitimate credit is getting swept up in the correction, are not contradictory. They are both plausible descriptions of the same messy cleanup[8][3].
The dispute is over proportion — how much of what changed was truly an error, versus how much was credit borrowers had every right to count on. And that is a question only the department can answer with real numbers, because only the department can see the code and the accounts it touched[1][2]. It has chosen not to publish either one.
That choice has a cost. Without a published figure, the worst-case story fills the space. Borrower advocates are free to describe this as a mass rollback because nothing on the record contradicts them[1][2].
The People Who Planned a Decade Around This Number
Groups like the Student Borrower Protection Center and the Student Debt Crisis Center are not mainly arguing the math is wrong. They are arguing about reliance — the idea that people made real decisions based on a promise the government kept restating. Teachers, nurses, and servicemembers took lower government and nonprofit pay for years specifically because PSLF told them what the payoff would be[6][3].
When the government certifies a borrower's employment year after year, publishes a running count, and then quietly moves that count backward, advocates say that is not fixing a spreadsheet. It is changing the terms after the work is already done[6][3]. The Student Borrower Protection Center has gone further, with executive director Mike Pierce calling agency officials "serial liars and political opportunists itching to show their boss that they can hurt the people he dislikes"[6] — a claim about the administration's motive, not about whether any specific counter was right or wrong.
Advocates also warn the same logic could reach borrowers whose loans have already been forgiven, raising the possibility that some discharged debt could be reinstated[2][6]. The department has not addressed that possibility directly. For now, the only remedy available to an individual borrower is to file a PSLF Reconsideration request through the PSLF Help Tool on StudentAid.gov and wait[5].
A Second, Separate Rule Is Getting Mixed Into the Same Story
Layered on top of the counter dispute is a different action entirely. On October 31, 2025, the department finalized a PSLF rule, which took effect July 1, 2026, letting the Secretary of Education disqualify an employer found to have a "substantial illegal purpose." Workers keep credit for time already served, but stop earning it once such a determination is made[9][10][11].
That rule is about which employers count, not about miscoded payment months. It shares a program with the counter dispute and nothing else, but coverage of the two has sometimes blurred together, making the overall rollback sound larger than either action alone.
Together, both moves point at the same underlying number: PSLF has forgiven roughly $90.6 billion for about 1.2 million borrowers[5]. Every tightened counter and every disqualified employer reduces that ongoing cost, without needing a vote in Congress[9][12]. That is not evidence the changes are made in bad faith. It is simply the incentive sitting underneath a program this large, for any administration managing it.
How Different Outlets Told the Same Two Numbers
Coverage split largely on which of two words to trust: "correct" or "rescind." Forbes led with "rescinds," the advocates' term, though it flagged the uncertainty directly in its own headline: "scope of rollback is unclear"[1]. CNBC split the difference, pairing the department's "recalculates" with borrowers being "set back" in the same headline[5]. The College Investor's "corrects" leaned toward accepting the department's account before any dispute appeared[8]. Newsweek's framing, "Trump Admin Rolls Back Forgiveness," put a political actor and a deliberate verb in the same sentence, without mentioning the department's stated cause[4]. Protect Borrowers' own release was unambiguous advocacy, not reporting, built around language like "rips" and "locks... in debt"[6].
None of these outlets, and no non-Western coverage found in reporting on this story, resolved the one question that would settle the argument: how many accounts actually changed, and how many of those changes were errors versus earned credit taken back. Until the Education Department releases that number, every estimate of how many borrowers were wrongly stripped of credit — in either direction — remains just that: an estimate.
Summary
The U.S. Department of Education has confirmed that it lowered the qualifying-payment counts of some borrowers in the Public Service Loan Forgiveness program, or PSLF[1][2]. PSLF cancels the remaining federal student debt of government and nonprofit workers after 120 qualifying monthly payments — about ten years of paying[5]. The count is the whole program. A borrower at 118 is two months from a clean slate. A borrower knocked back to 94 is more than two years away[5]. Some borrowers reported exactly that kind of drop, with no advance notice and no individual explanation[2][5].
The department's explanation is narrow and technical. Spokesperson Ellen Keast said the agency found "multiple PSLF counter code errors stemming from changes implemented in May 2024 under the Biden Administration" that "resulted in inaccurate payment counts for some borrowers"[1][5]. In plain terms: in 2022 the government promised a one-time cleanup of badly tracked loan records, and in 2024 it pushed software changes to award that credit in bulk[7]. The department now says parts of that code handed out credit for months that did not qualify — mostly time spent in forbearance, when payments were paused, and time on repayment plans that never counted[8][5].
Borrower advocates do not mainly dispute that some counts were wrong. They dispute who is being caught. Groups such as the Student Borrower Protection Center and Student Debt Crisis Center say borrowers who earned their credit under the rules in force at the time are being swept up too, and will have to pay for years longer[6][3]. They also warn that the same logic could reach borrowers whose loans were already discharged[2][6]. The single sharpest point of genuine dispute is one the department can settle and has not: how many accounts changed, and whether any legitimately earned credit was taken back[1][2]. As of August 24, 2026, the department has not released a number[1][2].
One thing to keep separate. This recalculation is not the same as the PSLF rule the department finalized on October 31, 2025, which took effect July 1, 2026 and lets the Secretary disqualify employers found to have a "substantial illegal purpose"[9][10][11]. Both touch PSLF. They are different actions, with different legal bases, and coverage sometimes blends them.
The Event
In mid-August 2026, borrowers in the Public Service Loan Forgiveness program began reporting that their qualifying-payment counts on StudentAid.gov had dropped, in some cases sharply, without notice[2][5]. On or about August 18, 2026, the U.S. Department of Education publicly confirmed it had reduced some counts[1]. Spokesperson Ellen Keast attributed the changes to "multiple PSLF counter code errors stemming from changes implemented in May 2024 under the Biden Administration"[1][5]. The department has not stated how many borrowers were affected, nor whether credit removed in error will be restored[1][2].
Undisputed Facts
- PSLF, created in 2007, cancels remaining federal student debt for government and nonprofit employees after 120 qualifying monthly payments[5].
- Roughly 1.2 million public servants have had debt erased under PSLF, with an average cleared balance of nearly $75,000[5].
- The Education Department confirmed it reduced qualifying-payment counts for some PSLF borrowers[1][2].
- Department spokesperson Ellen Keast attributed the reductions to "multiple PSLF counter code errors stemming from changes implemented in May 2024 under the Biden Administration"[1][5].
- The department has not disclosed how many accounts were changed, or whether wrongly removed credit will be restored[1][2].
- The 2024 code changes grew out of the one-time Income-Driven Repayment account adjustment announced in April 2022 and the earlier Limited PSLF Waiver, both of which granted credit for months that would not otherwise have counted[7][5].
- Borrowers who believe credit was removed in error can file a PSLF Reconsideration request through the PSLF Help Tool on StudentAid.gov[5].
- A separate PSLF final rule was published in the Federal Register on October 31, 2025 and took effect July 1, 2026; it lets the Secretary disqualify an employer found to have a "substantial illegal purpose"[9][10][11].
The Pressure
Strip away the moralizing and blame. What structural realities persist regardless of which narrative wins?
- Bulk fixes create bulk errors
- The 2022 IDR account adjustment and the Limited PSLF Waiver moved millions of accounts at once to repair a decade of servicer recordkeeping failures[7]. Any process that touches millions of records with automated rules will misfire on some of them. That is true regardless of who ordered it. So both claims can be simultaneously correct: real coding errors existed, and real earned credit got caught in the cleanup[8][3].
- The counter is the entitlement
- PSLF has no partial credit. At 119 payments a borrower owes the full balance; at 120 they owe nothing[5]. That cliff is why a database field carries the weight of a decade of career choices, and why moving it silently is felt as confiscation even when the underlying math is defensible.
- Non-disclosure is a choice with costs
- The department could end the central dispute by publishing the number of affected accounts and the criteria used. It has not[1][2]. In the absence of a number, the worst-case estimate circulates unchallenged, and the agency's silence functions as evidence for its critics.
- Program cost is the quiet driver
- About 1.2 million discharges at an average near $75,000 is a large ongoing federal outlay[5]. Tightening eligibility — through counters, through the on-time payment requirement, through employer disqualification — reduces it without requiring a vote in Congress[9][12].
Material realitySome PSLF payment counts went down; the Education Department says so on the record[1]. Some of those reductions removed credit for forbearance months and non-qualifying repayment plans, which the statute does not obviously cover[8]. Some borrowers who believe their months were legitimate have been knocked years from forgiveness, including reported drops from near 120 down to 94[5]. All three of those can be true at the same time, and nothing published so far establishes the proportions. The only body that can measure it is the one that made the change. Meanwhile the practical remedy is individual and slow: file a reconsideration request through the PSLF Help Tool, keep screenshots of prior counts, keep bank statements, keep employer certification forms[5]. Separately and independently, the October 31, 2025 final rule took effect July 1, 2026, letting the Secretary disqualify employers with a "substantial illegal purpose" — with credit preserved for work done before the determination date[9][10][11].
Narrative as a weaponThree parties are shaping this. The Education Department wants you to read the story as accounting: an inherited bug, a routine correction, no policy change. Its evidence is real — the May 2024 counter code — but it withholds the one figure that would let anyone verify the claim's scope[1][5]. Borrower advocates want you to read it as intent: an administration punishing public employees. Their evidence for scope is anecdote and the department's silence, and their sharpest language is about motive rather than counters[6]. Personal-finance outlets, which drove most of the coverage, want your click and your reconsideration filing; their incentive pushes toward urgency and toward the borrower's point of view, since borrowers are the audience[5][8]. Notably absent: any independent audit, and any foreign or non-U.S. coverage that might reframe the question. Until the department publishes a count, treat every claim about how many people were wrongly stripped — in either direction — as an estimate, not a finding.
How Each Side Sees It
Each major actor’s view — how it frames things, its underlying incentive, and how it’s materially affected. Tap a side to read it.
Frames it asThe department's case is that a number in a database is not a legal entitlement. PSLF is a statute. It forgives debt after 120 payments that meet the law's conditions — right loan, right plan, right employer, actual payments. If software wrongly credited months a borrower spent in forbearance, with payments paused, that credit was never earned[8][5]. Leaving it in place would mean writing off debt Congress did not authorize writing off, and doing it unevenly: borrowers who hit a buggy code path get years of free credit while borrowers who did not, pay in full. The department also argues the mess is inherited. The blanket fixes of 2022–2024 moved millions of accounts at once, and moving millions of accounts at once is how you get errors at scale[7]. Cleaning up is unglamorous but is what accurate administration looks like[1][5].
WhyTwo things at once. Legal exposure — forgiving debt without statutory basis invites audit findings and litigation. And policy direction: this administration has moved to narrow PSLF, including through the October 2025 employer-eligibility rule[9][12]. A tighter counter serves both[1].
Impact on themEvery count it lowers is money the government does not forgive. It also absorbs the political cost of teachers and nurses on the news[6][2]. Refusing to publish a number keeps the story alive and makes the agency look like it is hiding the scale[1][2].
Frames it asTheir strongest argument is about reliance, not arithmetic. People took lower-paying public jobs for a decade because the government told them a specific number. When the government publishes a count, certifies employment year after year, and then silently moves the number, it is not correcting a spreadsheet — it is changing the deal after the work is done[6][3]. Second, the burden is backwards. A borrower cannot see the code. They can only file a reconsideration request and wait[5], while the agency that made the error decides its own case. Third: scope. Advocates concede some counts were genuinely wrong. Their point is that a fix aimed at forbearance months cannot be trusted to spare legitimate months when the agency will not say how many accounts moved or publish its criteria[3][2]. Protect Borrowers warns the reversals could even reach already-discharged loans, putting people back into debt they were told was gone[6][2].
WhyRestore credit, force disclosure of the scope and the rules used, and build a record for litigation or congressional oversight[6][3].
Impact on themDirect and measurable. A drop from 118 to 94 payments is more than two additional years of payments on a balance near the ~$75,000 average discharge[5]. That is real money, and it lands on people who structured a career around the promise[6].
Frames it asPSLF is a hiring tool. School districts, public hospitals, legal-aid offices and rural clinics use it to compete with private-sector pay. If the counter is unreliable, the recruiting pitch loses its force — and the July 1, 2026 employer rule adds a second worry, since an employer can now be disqualified for a "substantial illegal purpose," which cuts off credit for months worked after the determination date even though prior credit is preserved[9][10][11].
WhyPredictability. Employers need to promise something they can stand behind[11].
Impact on themHarder recruitment and retention in staffing-thin fields — teaching, nursing, public defense[6][5].
Frames it asTheir position is that the 2022 IDR account adjustment and the Limited PSLF Waiver were themselves remedies for a decade of servicer failure, when companies did not accurately track qualifying payments[7]. Undoing that credit, they argue, restores the original error rather than fixing a new one. If the department believes specific months were miscoded, it should publish the criteria and the count and let borrowers check the work[2][3].
WhyDefend the signature relief programs of the prior administration and force disclosure through oversight[6].
Impact on themPolitically, a concrete constituency — public employees — with a story that is easy to tell and hard for the agency to rebut without releasing data[6].
Like this article?
The Bias Ledger average rating 4.4
The same story, as framed by outlets across the spectrum, ordered least to most biased. The bias score (1 = straight, 10 = heavily spun) is an AI assessment of that framing — click an outlet to see its track record. The tell is the word choice or omission that reveals the angle.
| Outlet | Vantage | Bias | How they frame it | The tell |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CNBC | U.S. center, business/consumer finance | 2 | "Education Department recalculates student loan forgiveness counts, setting some PSLF borrowers back"[5]. | "Recalculates" is the agency's frame; "setting some borrowers back" is the borrower's. Splitting the difference in one headline is about as neutral as this story got. Leads on the Keast quote and the process fix, which is the useful part for readers. |
| Morgan Lewis | U.S., management-side law firm client alert; audience is employers, not borrowers | 2 | "DOE Finalizes Regulations on 'Illegal Activities' Causing Ineligibility for Public Service Loan Forgiveness"[10]. | Dry and accurate on the October 2025 rule, but scoped entirely to employer compliance risk. Borrower harm is not the subject. Cited here for the rule's mechanics, not for framing. |
| TheStreet | U.S. center, markets/personal finance | 3 | "PSLF payment counts drop as agency blames coding errors"[8]. | "Blames" is the tell — it holds the department's explanation at arm's length without either endorsing or rebutting it. Useful for its specificity: the reversals cluster in forbearance months and non-qualifying repayment plans. |
| Forbes | U.S. center, personal-finance beat by a student-loan attorney | 4 | "Education Department Rescinds Student Loan Forgiveness Credit, But Scope Of Rollback Is Unclear"[1]; a follow-up warns the department "May Reinstate Forgiven Student Loans, Advocates Warn, But Risk Is Unclear"[2]. | The word "rescinds" adopts the advocates' verb for what the department calls a correction. To its credit, both headlines carry the uncertainty in the headline itself — "unclear," "risk is unclear" — rather than burying it. The author is a borrower-side attorney, which shapes whose calls he takes. |
| The College Investor | U.S. center-right, consumer finance, generally sympathetic to program-integrity arguments | 5 | "PSLF Payment Counts Drop as Education Department Corrects IDR Adjustment Errors"[8]. | "Corrects" accepts the department's characterization as fact in the headline. The reader is told the errors were real before being told anyone disputes it. Compensates with the most concrete breakdown of which months are being pulled. |
| Newsweek | U.S. center-left, aggregation-heavy | 6 | "Student Loan Update: Trump Admin Rolls Back Forgiveness for Some Borrowers"[4]. | Puts "Trump Admin" in the subject slot and "rolls back forgiveness" in the verb slot. That converts a technical recalculation into a deliberate political act before the reader reaches the first paragraph. The department's stated cause — 2024 counter code — does not appear in the headline. |
| Protect Borrowers | U.S. left; advocacy organization (Student Borrower Protection Center), founded by former CFPB student-loan ombudsman staff, funded by foundations and aligned with borrower-side litigation | 9 | "Trump Administration Rips Relief From Teachers, Nurses, Servicemembers and Other First Responders, Locks Dedicated Public Service Workers in Debt"[6]. | Advocacy copy, not reporting, and it reads that way: "rips," "locks... in debt," and executive director Mike Pierce calling officials "serial liars and political opportunists itching to show their boss that they can hurt the people he dislikes." That is a claim about motive presented where evidence about counters should be. The underlying factual point — the department won't say how many — is solid and is why the group gets quoted. |
References
- Education Department Rescinds Student Loan Forgiveness Credit, But Scope Of Rollback Is Unclear — Forbes · U.S. center; column by a borrower-side student-loan attorney
- Education Department May Reinstate Forgiven Student Loans, Advocates Warn, But Risk Is Unclear — Forbes · U.S. center; borrower-side attorney column
- SDCC Statement: Servicing Failures Erase PSLF Payment Credit, Harming Borrowers — Student Debt Crisis Center · U.S. left; borrower advocacy nonprofit, foundation-funded, campaigns for broad debt cancellation
- Student Loan Update: Trump Admin Rolls Back Forgiveness for Some Borrowers — Newsweek · U.S. center-left; aggregation-driven
- Education Department recalculates student loan forgiveness counts, setting some PSLF borrowers back — CNBC · U.S. center; business news, NBCUniversal-owned
- Trump Administration Rips Relief From Teachers, Nurses, Servicemembers and Other First Responders, Locks Dedicated Public Service Workers in Debt — Protect Borrowers · U.S. left; Student Borrower Protection Center advocacy release, founded by ex-CFPB student-loan staff
- The Income-Driven Repayment (IDR) Account Adjustment: Moving Millions of Borrowers Closer to Cancellation — Student Loan Borrowers Assistance (National Consumer Law Center) · U.S. left; consumer-law advocacy project, borrower-side
- PSLF payment counts drop as agency blames coding errors — TheStreet · U.S. center; markets and personal-finance publisher
- William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan (Direct Loan) Program — final rule — Federal Register · U.S. government primary source; official record of rulemaking
- DOE Finalizes Regulations on 'Illegal Activities' Causing Ineligibility for Public Service Loan Forgiveness — Morgan Lewis · U.S.; management-side law firm client alert, employer-compliance audience
- ED Publishes Final PSLF Regulations On Employer Eligibility Changes — NASFAA · U.S.; trade association of college financial-aid administrators, membership-funded
- Fact Sheet: Restoring Public Service Loan Forgiveness to Its Statutory Purpose (October 30, 2025) — U.S. Department of Education · U.S. government primary source; the agency's own advocacy for its rule